My Man, the Bicycle and my Happiness

One afternoon when I was going to school, an old man rode the same jeepney I was in. The old man was amid his son of about seven. They sat beside each other, in front of where I used to sit. Seconds passed, passengers filled the jeepney. The old man, white-haired, with eyeglasses due to elderly carried his son and let him sat in his lap and embraced the boy tight.

By then, I could see unswervingly the angelic face of the boy. He has an eye defect. His two corneas convene in the middle. There, I recognized that the boy was blind. I spent my next minutes ogling blankly at the boy innocently sleeping in his father’s arms. His father busy gazing outside the jeepney’s   window but every second, he looked past the quiescent boy and embraced him more tightly.

Abruptly, my memoirs came flashed my psyche. When I was eight, I remember my papa teaching me how to drive a bicycle. He let me drove myself while he was holding the back part of the bicycle to maintain my balance. Many times, I fell on the ground. But my papa let me stand again and persist on telling me that I can do that.

Every Saturday morning, when I am not in school, he takes his bike with me in our backyard and there he let me drove the bicycle around the vicinity. He never leaves me during that times, he carefully handles the back part of the bike and together, we crossed the route. More than the fear of falling again and having my knees got wounded, my greatest fear was my papa leaving me alone in the bike. So, I never learned.

I also remembered when my papa and I used to fetch water in a nearby water station. Back then, we do not have a direct supply of water in our house and so my papa will go fetch water with our pedicab. It was my habit then to wake up early in the morning so that I can go with my papa. With the containers all around me, my duty was to impede the containers from sliding. When it is time to go back home, my papa let me drive the pedicab with him handing the back of it. We drove the main road amidst the big cars ahead and in the back of us. It was fun. It was my happiness.

It has been seven years since my father passed away. On the 27th day of September 2004, I saw my papa’s last day inside a long, white coffin. He died of complications. I am so proud of my papa, he showed me that day what real courage is. Because that day, I learned that courage is about leaving the world with happiness. His face was hilarious. It was an afternoon I will never forget. That day, I regretted my choice. The choice of seeing him suffered in his last day. I want to remember my papa as a strong and courageous father I have ever known because I loved my papa more than he knows.

This is a father and daughter story. A story where I used to be my papa’s only princess and my papa was my only prince.

Dance With My Father
Luther Vandross

Intro: Bb F Gm Eb

Bb		      F  Gm			     F		Bb
Back when I was a child, before life removed all the innocence
Bb			Dm	Eb			  F	     Bb
My father would lift me high and dance with my mother and me and then
Bb			Eb
Spin me around 'til I fell asleep
Cm				  Bb
Then up the stairs he would carry me
Cm			  F
And I knew for sure I was loved

Bb		Dm		Gm	      Eb
If I could get another chance, another walk, another dance with him
Cm			Gm
I'd play a song that would never, ever end
Cm
How I'd love, love, love
F			Bb
To dance with my father again 

         Bb F Gm Eb

Bb				F
When I and my mother would disagree
Gm			F		Bb
To get my way, I would run from her to him
Bb			  Dm
He'd make me laugh just to comfort me
Eb				     F        Bb
Then finally make me do just what my mama said
Bb			Eb
Later that night when I was asleep
Cm		  Bb
He left a dollar under my sheet
Cm				F
Never dreamed that he would be gone from me
Bb		 Dm		   Gm	           Eb
If I could steal one final glance, one final step, one final dance with him
Cm			Gm
I'd play a song that would never, ever end
Cm
'Cause I'd love, love, love
F			Bb
To dance with my father again
Eb                       F
Sometimes I'd listen outside her door
Bb			   Gm
And I'd hear how my mother cried for him
Eb			 F
I pray for her even more than me
Eb			 F
I pray for her even more than me

         Bb F Gm Eb

!!!!!Change in key from Bb to C!!!!!

C				G
I know I'm praying for much too much
Am			    F
But could you send back the only man she loved
Dm		       Am
I know you don't do it usually
Dm
But dear Lord she's dying
G			C
To dance with my father again
Dm
Every night I fall asleep and this is all I ever dream

         C G Am F C
Leave a Reply

