Books on my shelf

 

As Salman Rushdie once said, books choose their authors; their act of creation is not entirely a rational and conscious one. Yes, I believe it too. In such time, I’ve learned that any kind of book really paves way to knowledge. I became inclined with books when I was eight years old. I remember holding and reading a book which only caught my attention.  Back then, my fascination to books continues to awaken my thirst for something more fragile and realistic. Until now, I can’t wait to have more books on my bare hands. Anyways, here’s a list of the books I am blessed to have.

  1. Suspended Animation by W.E.Davis– I had bought it when I was in my first year of college. Together with my close friends Jessica, Jennifer and Jeffrey, we bought each one of us a book only for fun. But it was really great to have one.
  2. The Mass by F. Sionil Jose– it was a college requirement to make a review of it. Even though it was a pre requisite to read the said book in order to pass the subject, I really had fun reading it and knowing that Filipino writers are truly exemplary authors.
  3. Macbeth by Shakespeare– I only borrowed it from my close friend Jessica but until now, I haven’t returned it and so I think it will now also be part of my book collections.
  4. Leonardo’s Shadow by Christopher Grey– It is a gift given by my sister on my 19th birthday. She had bought me one because she knows how I am really addicted to books.
  5. Moments of Grace by Nancy Jo Sullivan– I had borrowed it from my sister because it was only stock on their room left unread. Until now, the book is in my own care.
  6. Proverbs for Life (for women) by Lifebooks– It is my best friend’s gift on my 18th birthday. I really was a great help for me especially those life changing adages and stories it had.
  7. The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren– my best friend lets me took a read of it and it was really a life changing book. Until now, it is in my shelf.
  8. The Lord of the Rings (trilogy) by J.R.R. Tolkien– I had fun reading it despite that it was literally thick and it was only a borrowed book from my friend and I haven’t returned it yet.
  9. Around the World in eighty days by Jules Verne– a Christmas gift from my friend Jessica. I remembered requesting her to buy me “Lord of the Ring” book but she couldn’t find one and so this book was the exchange.
  10. The Power of your Dreams by Soozi Holbeche– A very old book which was given to my family by my god mother. Today, I managed to keep it in my bookshelf.
  11. The Gerson Theraphy by Charlotte Gerson & Morton Walker D.P.M.- This book was given by my grandfather upon my request to buy me a health book because back then, I really wanted to have a course on nursing.
  12. Qigong Massage by Dr. Yang, Jwing-Ming– A physical therapy book which was also given by my grandfather via a balikbayan box upon my request.
  13. Angels and Demons by Dan Brown– A controversial book I had borrowed from my friend Gilbert and until now I also haven’t returned it.
  14. For One More Day by Mitch Albom– A compelling story of a family. This is one of my favorite books. I had only borrowed it from Gilbert and it is in my bookshelf right now.
  15. The Five People You meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom– A great story.   This one is also Gilbert’s book and I am only taking good care of it now.
  16. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens– A small red book which I had bought for only 15 pesos at Booksale store. A good and marvelous story.
  17. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens- A thick book which was given to me by my special someone upon learning that I am inclined to Dickens’s books.
  18.  Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens- another Dickens’s book which was a Christmas gift also from my special someone.
  19. True Believer by Nicholas Sparks- My friend & college classmate Renard lets me borrow it and as a matter of fact this is the second book of Sparks I have read so far, the first one is “A walk to remember”.
  20.  Nights in Rodanthe by Nicholas Sparks– At seventy pesos on November 4, 2011, I had bought the book and was really moved on the great love story it entails.
  21. Dear John by Nicholas Sparks– I had bought it on November 25, at only 195 pesos. This amazing story really makes me cry and love.
  22. At first Sight by Nicholas Sparks– The hardbound book which I only bought at 170 pesos was the continuation of Sparks book “True Believer” and it was really great.
  23. The Guardian by Nicholas Sparks- This is the latest book I am reading. My fifth book of Sparks. I can’t wait to have more. J
  24. Lumayo Ka Nga Sa Akin by Bob Ong- A January 2012 book I had bought somewhere in Makati. This book serves as my recreational activity during my internship’s  free time.
  25. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho- I have read it when I was in my first year college. I remembered I have already returned it to my friend and luckily my sister’s ex-boyfriend gave her this one as a special gift and today, this book was in my own caretaking.
  26. The Zahir by Paulo Coelho– My special someone gave this book as a gift for me. I really enjoyed reading it because somehow the story contemplates with the life of a writer.
  27. Veronika decides to die by Paulo Coelho – A summer book. Late last May, I had bought as a anti-boredom medicine. This one is my favorite among Coelho’s book.
  28. The Winner Stands Alone by Paulo Coelho- A book of passion that turns into a murderous act. This one was also given to me by him. I had spent mostly my free time reading it.
  29. Like the Flowing River by Paulo Coelho– A collection of different inspiring stories. This book is one of those that excite me because this one attracts my senses.
  30. By the River Piedra I sat down and wept by Paulo Coelho– A story of two young lovers with stirring quest for both dreams. A very amazing story ever told. This is the one that I had bought last August.
  31. Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho– Another August book I had bought because I remember it being sold in discount so I easily bought it.
  32. Brida by Paulo Coelho– My third book I had bought because of it being on sale. A good story of a girl with a dream and her moving journey in attaining it.
  33. The Witch of Portobello by Paulo Coelho– A motherly story.  A pre-birthday gift for me on my 20th birthday last September.
  34. The Valkyries by Paulo Coelho– This is another book I have able to buy as a collection last October.
  35. The Devil and Miss Prym by Paulo Coelho– This book was my own treat. At first, I find it boring but as I peruse it, I find it very astonishing.
  36. The Fifth Mountain by Paulo Coelho– My best friend’s Christmas gift for me. J I had spent a week to finish it.
  37. The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coelho– My 13th book of Coelho given to me as another Christmas gift. How I am blessed to have such book.

These books were very special to me in many ways because most of it was given to me by my loved ones. I really believed that once we own a book, we were as if owning one of the most expensive gift of life and that is the gift of knowledge. Books are very amusing companion. They let us experience everything from big to smaller details of life. We can learn from them and somehow our responsibility is to share back those learning’s we have to those unfortunate ones who are unable to read.

As Mortimer Adler once wrote in his book “How to Love a book”, if we don’t take chance on reading our books, we don’t really own a book. We only own its ink and paper.  Boos are books, with or without cover. And in the future, I believed those lists above will somehow increase their numbers and I will take note of it once again because these books really became a part of my life because I have showered these books with a lot of care and these books do serve a good part on my shelf.

Leave a Reply

