“Name” Sane

I was thinking of something to write this week and unexpectedly, I come up with “name” as this week’s topic. 🙂

Why? Well, as a simple explanation, I was just curious on the history of the name of certain people, just as I am curious about my own. 🙂

  •  Maria May Angelie

 As one of my dearest co-employee, I was able to asked her the origin of her name. “Maria”, well for certain, it runs through their ancestors (specifically their girls cousin). All of her cousins had this name. “May”, on the other hand was really the choice of her mother (because she was born on the month of May). She was also named “Angelie” because of the popularity of Angelique Claso, a well-known broadcaster in the year she was born. 🙂

  • Donessa

Contrary to her name, she was used to be called by her nickname “Phan”. It was just that she was not really proud of her birth name. 🙂 On one of her stories, she has narrated that “Donessa” originated from a radio show. On their province, radio was really the source of entertainment. So one day, while listening, her parents decided to come up with that name. It was a name of a fairy on a radio show, she was told. On the other hand, she was also told that if she wasn’t called Donessa, she should have been named Andrea. 🙂

  • Maron Francisco

As shared, “Maron” has originated when one day, his father has accidentally saw it on a movie credit. 🙂 Meanwhile, “Francisco” runs in the blood. Why? Of course, it’s because he has carried the name of his grandfather. Too loving parents. 🙂 Anyways, as I have asked him last night, if he will be given a chance to change his name, he wants to be called “Romeo”. Because he is  fascinated with a television series “Mga Munting Pangarap ni Romeo”. 🙂

  • Princess Anne

My bestfriend, on the other hand,  was named such because of such. 🙂 lol 🙂 “Princess” was the choice of her mother without any certain reason. 🙂 “Anne”, meanwhile, was given by the midwife after she was born so that her name will not be that ordinary. 🙂 If given a chance to change her name, she wants to be called by her favorite expression: Smile. 🙂

  • Robert John

He had told me that his name was easy to trace where it came from. 🙂 “Robert” originated from his father’s name Roberto. While “John” was added by her mother so his name will not be that plain. Her mother also wants to have her son’s name with initials RJ (that was his nickname after all). 🙂 He just texted me this night that if given a chance to change his name, he wants to be called Peter Parker because I like spiderman and he told me he was my spiderman (and that’s true) 🙂

  • Eunice

This is now my time to share my name’s origin. I just figured my name’s origin last week while coming up with this article. I asked my mom why does I  name such and apparently, she is not answering my question seriously that time. 🙂 But within minutes she seriously told me that she has come up with my name because I was born  after a year of her unfortunate miscarriage. She said my name was depicted after the words “unica ija”  and a toothpaste brand “unique”. 🙂 This is really the first time I have learned my name’s history and really I was happy with my name after all. 🙂

We will carry our names the time we had given such, the day we are born and to the end of our lives. Names, these are some sort of our own identity. We have names so we will be distinct from others. Though apparently, we have the same names with other beings, still we differentiate ourselves from others by way of our character. Names are just label we are given in order to improve  ourselves. 🙂

Names are special. We need to take good care of it no matter what. We are given these names because we will grow with it. We are the ones who will nurture it. What counts more is that we used our names properly. Because at the end of the day, no matter what names we have, it is still in our hands and God’s will what our future will be. 🙂name slogan

Leave a Reply

