Blessed is….

Everyday is a blessing. It comes as a sweet bonus from above…

First of all, I would like to thank all the sponsors behind “My Favorite Book 2013” contest: The Philippine Star, National Book Store and Globe Telecom. 🙂

I would also like to thank my family for being so proud of me and for being the first people who are so happy for what I have achieved. 🙂 Words are not enough to thank you for supporting me, really.

I want to also give my utmost thanks  to the people who sticks with me every time. My boyfriend, Robert John and my best friend, Princess Anne. Thank you guys. 🙂

And most of all, I would like to offer this blessing of course, to the Omnipotent Creator of all, God. Without you, this will not be possible. Your grace has moved me this far. 🙂

Yes! I won and this is not a dream, this is for real. I am blessed to be this week’s winner of “My Favorite Book 2013”. Thank you Lord!:)

My published article in Philippine Star. :)

My published article in Philippine Star. 🙂

Anyways, if you want to check Philstar online, you may want to view philstar.com or read my winning article below:

A mother’s extraordinary day

By Eunice Esparagoza Dela Cruz (The Philippine Star) | Updated May 26, 2013 – 12:00am
MANILA, Philippines – Nine months. These months are probably the most exciting and crucial point in a woman’s life. These are the times when a woman starts to have morning sickness, stretch marks, occasional cramps and most of all, her tummy gets bigger and heavier. Her every step becomes a slow, careful movement because inside her is a little bundle of joy that will come to life after all her uneasiness. This is how courageous a woman can be… But after all, this is just the beginning of a long motherhood story.

The first time I read Mitch Albom’s For One More Day, I remember how I slept late at night just to finish it. It may sound ridiculous, but that night I repeatedly dreamt of the scenarios in the novel. It only shows how I was deeply attached to it. I have read the book three times now and what makes me repeat this book all over again is that it conveys the power of family attachment, specifically motherly love.

The book depicts the account of a certain Charles “Chick” Benetto (a daddy’s boy), who is given another day to spend with his dead mother, Posey, after he tried to kill himself one early October night. Chick has messed up his life but is given an extraordinary day in his life.

The story of Chick is somewhat related to my story (though it was my father who had passed away). Just like Chick’s mom, my mother is the most responsible and caring woman I have ever known. After having us, my mother decided to become a plain housewife. After my father died, she becomes the sole supporter of our schooling and I really don’t know how she made it.

I remember how she used to wake up early in the morning to prepare our breakfast before going to school. She used to iron our school uniforms because she wanted us to be clean and orderly always.  Most of all, she was the most excited and proudest mom when we received achievements in school. Luckily, six among her eight kids are now college graduates. I know that after all her sufferings, seeing us finish our studies is the most rewarding thing she has ever received.

But just like Chick, even after all my mom’s hardships, there were times when I didn’t stand up for her.  I am not a perfect daughter. I often commit mistakes. Sometimes, I ignore my mother’s advice and break her house rules. Oftentimes, when she starts scolding me, I just put my hands over my ears. But one thing I love about her is that she gives her full trust even though I have failed her a lot. So, if I had to count the times she’s stood up for me, it really outweighs those times I stood up for her.

In most ways, I believe my mother is really a superhero. She is my superwoman. She can do anything (e.g., fixing broken chairs, changing light bulbs). She can protect us against those who can harm us. She doesn’t have wings but she can fly to the same spot where we get wounded. She doesn’t have superpowers but she knows how to keep us good during our bad days. Love­: it is the most powerful weapon a mother has and every mother knows how to use it.

I like how Posey has been given another day to make her child look back and fix what was left to be done in his life and to make him realize that despite the mistakes he committed, a mother can accept him with arms wide open. I know very well that if given a chance, every mother will do the same with their child. Every mother knows her child inside and out.

For One More Day makes me smile for it tackles similar childhood memories. The memories brought back the times I was so hard on my mother and hurt her feelings with my nasty behavior. I think I am very blessed to have a supporting mother. It makes me believe that even at unlikely times, my only refuge will be my mother’s love because it is the only one that will stick through the end.

What the novel really makes me hold on to till the end is that it sustains the power of a mother’s love, a love that can endure everything for the sake of her child. My mom is the best symbol of a love so true and I owe her so much, from being who I am today to the very extent of my life. As the book provides, “When you look at your mother’s eyes, you are looking at the purest love you will ever know,” and I can attest to that.

More than the chance of having another day spent with a lost loved one, the book reminds me of how each of us can fix the wrong things we did in our life especially to those we hurt the most because through this we can able to move on and live life again. The book also taught me how to forgive — forgive others and forgive myself. I am lucky to still have my mother by my side. I will not let this chance slip away that’s why every day  I take time to kiss and tell her how much I love her. Because I truly believe that one day spent with your loved one can really change everything.

Mitch Albom’s For One More Day is a compelling story of another day given: a day to listen, to love, to apologize and to forgive. It is a mother’s story. It tackles understanding, unity, forgiveness and love. And because behind our story is always a mother’s story, her story is where ours begin. So, I can say that the book is also my own story because I have also been given the chance to do this stuff, for one more day.

Nine months. These months begin the story of motherhood. But I realized motherhood is a long process. It’s a journey without an ending. The story of a mother begins and ends with love. It lasts forever.

Mitch Albom's "For one more day"

6 thoughts on “Blessed is….

    • Good afternoon!
      I sent it online.
      Just attach your article, background info and picture (jpeg format) one by one (not in a whole document). Hope you understand what I mean. 🙂
      Goodluck Mr. Marcus!
      –write with your heart–

      Godbless!

      *eunice 🙂

      • Hi,

        Thanks a lot for the information! 🙂

        By the way, how many days did you wait before you found out that you won? Did they notify you?

        Thanks a lot! 😉

      • Two weeks po. They never said anything. You need to guess maybe. Haha. I just found out I won after an unexpected read on philstar. Haha 🙂

      • Haha. I see. Anyway, thanks for answering my questions! Will finish my entry and hope that it will be published, as well. Congratulations! And thanks for being nice. 😉

Leave a Reply

