When my books talk

Books. I love them. I live with them. And definitely, I can die for them. 🙂

So this week, let me have this plaesure to introduce to you my new set of books. Books that took me long days, months and even years to buy, produce, sleep and be addicted of. And actually, this is the part two of my post entitled books-on-my-shelf. 🙂 Let’s get it on. 🙂

1. My Sister’s Keeper (Jodi Picoult)

The very first book of Ms. Picoult that I have read. The story revolves around Anna and her family, who finds it hard to decide if she will forever be her sister’s rescue. The story is so powerful that it can move you literally.  As the book articulates, “If you have a sister and she dies, do you stop saying you have one? Or are you always a sister, even when the other half of the equation is gone?” Five star for this. 🙂

2. Mercy (Jodi Picoult)

Initially, I had bought this book because I was attracted by its cover. A red rose  in a red background. 🙂 The book tells about loving someone so much that you need to decide if you will leave or will you kill just to end the suffering. As it book provides, “The way I see it, love is just a bigger, stickier form of trust.”  Five star also! 🙂

3. Harvesting the heart (Jodi Picoult)

The book catches my attention for it tackles about discovering in your own the magic tricks of being a mother despite being orphaned with your own mother. It also tells about the power of sharing responsibilities with your partner. As the book says, “Suddenly I realize that this is what I’ve been waiting for – a man who depends entirely on me… I dreamed for years of a man who couldn’t live without me, a man who pictured my face when he closed his eyes, who loved me when I was a mess in the morning and when dinner was late and even when I overloaded the washing machine and burned out the motor. [My son] stares up at me as if I can do no wrong. I have always wanted someone who treats me the way he does; I just didn’t know that I’d have to give birth to him.” I love the book but unfortunately, I can only give four stars for this. 🙂

4. Walking Home (Gloria Goldreich)

This is the book I happened to read just because I do not have any book available at that time. Ironically, though I am not that familiar with the author, the book has gotten me. It talks about the journey of a smart, ambitious girl who has everything in life, until one day her parents passed away, leaving her alone. In the end she became a dog walker. A job she never thought she will do. Four stars for this. 🙂

5. Table for two

One of the books ourcompany has published. A story about finding love at the right place and time. The book can tickle the heart of teens, adult who are looking for stories of successful love story despite odds. Four stars for this book. 🙂

6. The Book Thief (Markus Zusak)

One of the best written books I have read. The book is beautifully written and I love every words it entail. The book is the story of a girl named Liesel Meminger, who has given the chance to explore and discover the wonder of reading through the help of his adoptive father, Hans. The narrator of the book is Death and this is also the reason I grew curious about the novel. One thing I love about the  book is how magical the love story between Liesel and Rudy was told. Actually, I really love both of them. This is a real jewel in the world of literature. As the book entails, “I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.” If there are many stars to rate this book, I will surely give it. So obviously, five stars for this! 🙂

7. The Timekeeper (Mitch Albom)

This is the recent book I have finished reading. Obviously, Mr. Albom has this style of writing that touches me. The book talks about Father time. It tackles about the importance of every second in our life and the like. I love how he beautifully narrated the story and it was great. As the book says, “There is a reason why God limit our days. -To make each one precious. ” Though the book is beautiful, I can only give four stars for this. I regret expecting too much for this book.

books on my office cabinet

8. Lone Wolf (Jodi Picoult)

The very first time I have read Ms. Picoult, I have been amazed by her way of telling her novels. She has a mark and this mark of writing style got me hook by her books. Lone wolf is about a story of a girl who has been attached by his father ( a wolf caretaker) and their story revolves around the pack; the importance of a family. They have learned the ways and habits of wolf and how wolves are more afraid of humans than we are. As it tells, “I wonder if what makes a family a family isn’t doing everything right all the time but, instead, giving a second chance to the people you love who do things wrong.”  Five stars for this. 🙂

9. Nineteen Minutes (Jodi Picoult)

Nineteen minutes talks about a friendship still stood until the end. It caters the question of who should better judge someone. At the end of the day, you will want to know every detail of the book. You will be left turning the page excitedly. This is Ms. Jodi. A page-turner. As it articulates, “In nineteen minutes, you can mow the front lawn; color your hair; watch a third of a hockey game. In nineteen minutes, you can bake scones or get a tooth filled by a dentist; you can fold laundry for a family of five. In nineteen minutes, you can stop the world; or you can just jump off it.”  Five stars. 🙂

10. Second Glance (Jodi Picoult)

A story about loving across time. This is another powerful story about loving someone so much that you want to give him or her everything though sometimes you failed to sustain it. Jodi, in this book, tries to share a story about eugenics and believing in paranormal through real life events. As it provides, “Love meant jumping off a cliff and trusting that a certain person would be there to catch you at the bottom.”  Five stars. 🙂

11. The Tenth Circle (Jodi Picoult)

This book revolves around Daniel Stone who is a comic artist. He tries to rescue his daughter after learning that she was raped. This book also tells about teenage habits and the peer pressure that goes around schools. It talks about the tenth circle of hell: Lying to yourself. As it articulates, “You couldn’t have strength without weakness, you couldn’t have light without dark, you couldn’t have love without loss.” Five stars. 🙂

12. Handle with care (Jodi Picoult)

This book is a gift given by my boyfriend after knowing about my addiction with Jodi’s books. This book tackles about a mom who fights so much just to protect his son who has a rare bone disease. It shows how a mother can love her son so much that she can despise every judgment thrown to her. As it provides, “People always say that, when you love someone, nothing in the world matters. But that’s not true, is it? You know, and I know, that when you love someone, everything in the world matters a little bit more.”  Five stars. 🙂

13. House Rules (Jodi Picoult)

One of my favorite books by Ms. Jodi. Though I had a hard time reading it because of the small font used in the book, I find it amazing and so powerful. It talks about Jacob, who has Asperger’s disease and is obsessed with forensic analysis. In the end, it will signify the importance of protecting your sibling despite having a disease. It will make you cry and will wonder, is the legal system works that way always? The book says, “Sometimes I think the human heart is just a simple shelf. There is only so much you can pile onto it before something falls off an edge and you are left to pick up the pieces.”  Five stars. 🙂

My Jodi Picoult's book collection

Books, they make me complete. I don’t know what will I do if I don’t have any available books at hand. I just hope that one day, I can have a big library consisting of these books I have tried so hard to have. As Samuel Johnson shares, “A writer only begins a book. A reader finishes it. ” So read. It will take you far. Love your books. Learn its lesson. See how your life change. 🙂

This is my book's life. :)

This is my book’s life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

