Christmas List

Early October, my mom had already put some Christmas decorations in our window. Yeah, something like Christmas lights hanging outside our door and a circled lantern hanging in the window.

Mid-October, I had my vacation leave and then decided to built our small Christmas tree (because seeing so, with make me feel like its Christmas really), and decorated some garlands shaped like Christmas tree also in front of our door (I don’t mean to be redundant though). ๐Ÿ™‚

Seventeen days before Christmas. It’s really Christmas now! Though I haven’t heard any caroling session in our neighborhood these days, I am expecting it some other day. I think that will signify how the day will be nearer to feel. ๐Ÿ™‚

I was never used in listing my Christmas wish/wishes. I don’t remember having such a list in my life, nor telling it to someone I knew. But to make a difference this year, here, I would want to list my Christmas wishes for the first time (so let me do the honor). ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Have a new solid bookshelf

I have only one bookshelf. This bookshelf is the only visible proof that I love books. All my precious books are comfortable staying there but I always need to check it for time to time because some mouse always tries to invade it and sadly, those pest destroys my precious books. So I really want another one. Another valid reason would be because my books now comes in large numbers so I don’t have any idea where to put them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Have a copy of “The First Phone Call in Heaven” by Mitch Albom

The new book of Mr. Albom excites me since its release. But because I am born “kuripot, ” even though I want it so badly, I think I can’t buy it just like that because its too expensive (its a hardbound ) (laugh out loud). ๐Ÿ™‚ So I guess, I need to wait for its pocket size or softbound version. ๐Ÿ™‚ I really hope I can wait before his book signing on February next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Or maybe a copy of “The Fault in our Stars” by John Green

Well, I really want to read this book before the year ends. ๐Ÿ™‚ And I think I can manage this one. But if there’s someone good enough to buy it for me, then why not? ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Most of all, I wish or it would be proper to say, I pray that…

More than any personal or material wish, I pray for my family’s good health, safety and our firm bonding. Though we haven’t seen each other often (because some have their own families now), I pray that we will maintain the harmonious relationship we have from each other and may we have a bountiful 2014.

And of course, I will never forget to ask for the speedy recovery of the victims of super typhoon Yolanda. Though it will really take time for them to overcome what they’ve been through, I pray that they will still find peace in their heart. I pray for them to be stronger than ever, keep their hope alive and to have faith above.

As a radio station said, “This is the season to SHARE MORE, LOVE MORE and HAVE MORE FAITH. ๐Ÿ™‚ Advance Merry Christmas everyone! Below is the song that inspired me to write this one.

GROWN-UP CHRISTMAS LIST

Do you remember me
I sat upon your knee
I wrote to you
With childhood fantasies

Well, I’m all grown up now
And still need help somehow
I’m not a child
But my heart still can dream

So here’s my lifelong wish
My grown up christmas list
Not for myself
But for a world in need

No more lives torn apart
That wars would never start
and wars would never start
And time would heal all hearts
And everyone would have a friend
And right would always win
And love would never end
This is my grown up christmas list

As children we believed
The grandest sight to see
Was something lovely
Wrapped beneath our tree

Well heaven only knows
That packages and bows
Can never heal
A hurting human soul

No more lives torn apart
That wars would never start
And time would heal all hearts
And everyone would have a friend
And right would always win
And love would never end
This is my grown up christmas list

What is this illusion called the innocence of youth
Maybe only in our blind belief can we ever find the truth
(there’d be)

No more lives torn apart
That wars would never start
And time would heal all hearts
And everyone would have a friend
And right would always win
And love would never end, oh
This is my grown up christmas list

This is my grown up christmas list

Leave a Reply

